Topic: Mware equipment setup advice

Hey folks,
First post here, just joined after attending the MediaMatrix seminar in the D.C. area. I'm an AV Project Manager in the Gov't and have a good sized system running with Nware, managed by our in-house contractors but I do like to get my hands dirty along with them. I also serve as a volunteer tech director at my church, so like to apply what I learn on the job there as well when I can.

Along those lines, one of the folks I spoke to at the MM training has a large Mware hotel system so we got to talking about how I could use some ebay'd units of the previous generation of Mware stuff for routing networked audio around our church like I do at work. I'd love to use the Nware line, but it's pretty out of our church's price range. So, I was able to find a "lot" of six MM8802s ($130 shipped!) and am now looking at a couple of Mainframe 960nts, one with the RJ cards and one with the CN cards (1st Gen).

The gentleman I spoke to at the training said that I could use the MM8802s with a 960nt frame equipped with the CN versions of the DSP cards, however, everything I read in the Peavey datasheets and manuals seems to suggest that the CN cards only work with the CAB models. The MM8802s I bought appear only work with the RJ cards (50' limit) or the standard DB9-based DPS card (6' limit). If so, I might as well resell them as my plan was to have a BOB in various areas of the church campus interconnected with the mainframe over our church network via Cobranet.

So my questions are these:
1. Can the MM8802s be used with the MM-DSP-CN to build a Cobranet-based audio network around the 960nt?
2. What is the difference between the MM-DSP-CN and -CNII, and does this have any bearing on question 1?

Thanks for any help,
Jeff

Jeff Klein, DMC-E
AV Project Manager/DoD
Technical Director/Faith Baptist Church
Baltimore, Maryland

Re: Mware equipment setup advice